Backup

The Backup utility will backup configuration data of the UCx system. The backup file can be saved to the hard drive of the UCx system or to a USB drive (see Select Backup Location for details).

The following checks are performed prior to allowing the backup to proceed:
  1. Backups are disallowed when free space in the backup directory is less than 100 MB.
  2. Backups are disallowed when there is insufficient free space in the backup directory to create the required temporary files and the backup file.
  3. Backups to USB drive formatted to FAT32 are disallowed if the generated backup file size is over 2 GB.
System specific information like Network Parameters, Admin password, Time Settings, Security certificates and License are not backed up nor restored. Other configuration information that are not backed up and restored include: Remote SMTP and Fax Clients.

To create a backup of your UCx system configuration data, perform the following steps:

  1. Open the UCx Web-based Configuration Utility
  2. From the System tab, select Backup/Restore
  3. The Backup List page shows all the completed backups (if any)
  4. Press the Perform a Backup button to proceed to the page that shows the backup options
  5. Select the options that you want included in the backup. You can select items from the following categories:
    • Asterisk
    • Databases
    • Addons
    • GUI
    • Endpoint
    • Fax

    Before starting the backup operation, please review the amount of data listed for the Call Recordings and Voicemails options. If the size of call recordings and/or voicemails is in gigabytes, the backup operation is likely to take a long period of time (for large data sets even several hours). If the data size is very large, either exclude these options from the backup or make sure you can wait for the completion of the lengthy operation.

    Call Recordings and Voicemails options are automatically disabled if it uses more than 1.8 GB of space in the backup file.

  6. Press the Process button to start the backup operation
  7. Depending on the selected options, the backup operation can take certain amount of time. Wait for the backup operation to complete
  8. Once the backup is completed, press the Back button to return to the Backup List page
  9. The completed backup will be listed with the corresponding date and size
  10. The backup can be downloaded to your PC by clicking on the Backup Name link
    If the backup file size exceeds 500 MB, the download link is disabled. Backup files exceeding 500 MB can be downloaded using a SCP client (e.g. WinSCP). Backup files are located in the /var/www/backup directory on the UCx.
  11. To delete a backup file, select the checkbox beside the filename and press the Delete button.

Video Tutorial

Self Assessment Quiz

  1. Can backups be scheduled?
  2. Can FTP transfer of backup files be scheduled?
  3. Can you perform a backup to a USB drive instead of the Hard drive?
  4. If system does not allow you to proceed with a backup, what are the possible reasons?